Apple Tart

IMG_0642

So it’s 99 degrees in Phoenix right now, with the high expected to be an outrageous 118 today.  While my oven rarely gets used in the summer, I am on a mission!  A coworker gave me some beautiful freshly picked, homegrown apples and I couldn’t wait to make them into a tart, so here it is:

IMG_0644

Yes, it is baked in a pie dish because I dropped my ceramic tart pan.  Most pies have much more sugar and fillers such as tapioca or flour to thicken the filling.  This is a tart as the fruit is the star of the show on its own.  These apples were so sweet, I used only a spoonful of sugar mixed with cinnamon and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.

Thank you to S___ and M___ for the luscious apples!

Leave a Reply

