Unfinished Business

 

c9d104080ee80028cafaff36cdc49fc5I started reading The Wreck of the Medusa: The Most Famous Sea Disaster of the Nineteenth Century, and am not sure I can continue.

This has been called a spellbinding account of the most famous shipwreck before the Titanic.  Indeed, the story inspired the magnificent painting The Raft of the Medusa by Theodore Gericault which hangs in the Louvre.  In June, 1816, the Medusa was bound for Senegal, part of a convoy of four ships.  Medusa left the others in her wake, but navigational errors took it 100 miles off course.  It ran aground, lifeboats were not filled to capacity and chaos ensued.  Some passengers were put onto a raft, with little or no provisions, including fresh water.  The Saharan temperatures probably didn’t help, and soon everyone turned against each other, leading to murder and cannibalism.

Unfortunately, I cannot seem to get through this book.  I’m not sure if the politics of the era don’t appeal to me (not to mention that I don’t have a clue about them), or if it’s the writing style.  I keep plodding through it, but my mind starts to wander and I’ve no idea what I just read.  Or maybe it’s because summer reading should be a bit more enjoyable.  My thoughts are I should keep reading this, it’s history, someone put a lot of time and effort into writing this, it will help expand my mind but goodness, it’s a chore.

Does anyone else have this problem?

Leave a Reply

