Spanish Beef & Olives Over Saffron Rice

This has to be one of the top 5 things to come out of my crockpot!  No kidding! I know it doesn’t look any different from any other pot roast, but the kalamata olives add flavor, and they become so soft they melt in your mouth.

img_0698

My freezer is full, so I am not shopping until I empty it out. Whatever I pull out, I will have to use some way or the other. Today’s dinner was lean, boneless beef stew meat. So what to do with it besides the same old, same old?  Hmm, maybe something Spanish?  The base would be a tomato-based sauce with Spanish seasonings, then I realized there was half a jar of Rosé cream sauce leftover from the other night.  I think it would be fine to use any leftover marinara sauce or tomato sauce. This sauce on its own was bland, but so very thick which is why I added water.  I don’t think it added to the seasoning of the dish, but the end result was a sauce with a lot of body which needed no thickening.

So let’s begin:

Place 1-1/2 lbs. lean, boneless beef stew meat in the crockpot.  In a bowl, mix the following:

  • 8 oz. Rosé sauce, plus 8 oz. water (or 16 oz. marinara or tomato sauce)
  • 7 oz. jar kalamata olives, drained
  • 3 tblsp. honey
  • 1 to 2 tsp. minced garlic
  • 2 tblsp. paprika (use smoked if you prefer)
  • 2 tblsp. cumin
  • 2 tsp. ground fennel (not seeds)
  • 1 tsp. onion powder (no fresh onions on hand)
  • 1 pinch dry mustard
  • pepper to taste

Mix well, pour over the beef and cook on low for 6 hours.

I made saffron rice to carry along the Spanish theme, but it would be just as good over any type of rice, egg noodles or even mashed potatoes.

Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

