Italian Wedding Soup

img_0713

The other day, I made acini de pepe with milk and butter for my husband. It was the night before he was having surgery, and he wanted something bland. It’s a great dish for the little ones when they are sick. You can sweeten it up a little for the kiddies, and add a little Parmesan cheese and freshly cracked black pepper to the adult servings.  Simply divine!

When I served it, he immediately said I needed to make Italian Wedding Soup as it’s been so long since we’ve had that. And we should; it’s flavorful and easy. Today was a rainy and gloomy day, just perfect for a bowl of soup. I had some frozen stock, so I just braised tiny meatballs in it along with some diced carrots (which you can’t see in the picture). I like the broth to be clear, so I strained it through cheesecloth. Add everything back to the pot, then add spinach which has been sauteed to make sure it’s dry and doesn’t water down the broth. Really, the only trick to this dish is to highly season the meatballs to impart flavor to the broth. For the meatballs, I used ground oregano, ground fennel, ground thyme, some garlic and black pepper. Serve over the acini de pepe, and it’s a bowl of goodness!

 

 

Leave a Reply

