I ♥ Pumpkin

IMG_0720.JPG

I ♥ pumpkin and its cousin, the squash. This is one of my favorite vegetables whether it be roasted, baked, mashed or steamed. It adds flavor and creaminess to a braised dish, is great pureed into a soup, and chunks added to a rice pilaf add an layer of texture. And don’t forget pie! It’s also good in baked goods and this pancake recipe has been in my repertoire for over 30 years. So, you’d think I would have known better than to try and improve on a time-tested recipe.

While I have been trying to cut down on gluten, by no means am I on a gluten-free diet. This way of cooking and baking is entirely new to me, not having baked anything gluten-free yet. We went to Trader Joe’s as they are featuring pumpkin everything this time of year.  While picking up pumpkin ravioli, pumpkin salad dressing, pumpkin cereal bars, a pumpkin kringle imported from Racine, Wisconsin, pumpkin cookies (did I mention I like pumpkin?), I saw gluten-free pancake mix.  Great, I’ll take it! I couldn’t wait to try them, and oh my goodness, they were awful!

I followed the directions (really, I can crack an egg and measure water), but this batter was a gelatinous blob. Figuring you need to keep them small to ensure they cook thoroughly, I made silver dollar-size pancakes.  They didn’t bubble in the middle and the edges didn’t turn dry, so I just kept staring at them, wondering if it was time to turn them. By the time I did, they were not burnt, but very, very dark and still not cooked completely on the inside. Turning down the heat didn’t help as they were still undercooked, and turning up the heat just burned them. I added more water to the batter to thin it, and while not quite so thick, it was still a blobby gelatinous mess. I even brought out my aebelskiver pan, thinking that might help by surrounding the batter with heat, but the same problem. Even when thoroughly cooked, the texture of the pancake middle becomes gooey once you eat it.

So, if you’re in the mood for some pumpkin pancakes, give this recipe a try.  It’s a golden oldie, and you will be delighted with the results.

 

Leave a Reply

