If I Run (If I Run, #1) by Terri Blackstock (3 Stars)

26263487

This is a totally new genre for me, a Christian-based suspense thriller. I received this advance copy from the publisher and NetGalley in return for an honest review. At the time I requested it, I didn’t realize it was Christian-based or Part 1 of a series.

The story begins with Casey Cox making her way out of town, and we are wondering why. We soon find out she is wanted for the murder of her best friend, and we are then left wondering why she has a distrust of the police. To say any more would be to spoil the plot for you, so let’s just say this was well-written and suspenseful. It was actually quite refreshing to read a book without any profanity.

If I had known this was part of a series, I probably wouldn’t have requested it. Normally, I don’t like the endings and the feeling that you are compelled to buy the next book to see how it ends (or if there is another continuation, heaven forbid!). As for the Christianity theme, it was really very much in the background and not overwhelming. There are only two characters that are central in this theme, and one is not Casey. If this had been a character with a New Age outlook, no one would think twice.

This was a good-paced, suspenseful story, and overall an enjoyable read.

Leave a Reply

