A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving (4 Stars)

The plot of the book is summed up in the first sentence:

“I am doomed to remember a boy with a wrecked voice—not because of his voice, or because he was the smallest person I ever knew, or even because he was the instrument of my mother’s death, but because he is the reason I believe in God; I am a Christian because of Owen Meany.”

John Wheelwright narrates the book in 1987.  John recounts his life, beginning in the 1950’s when John and Owen Meany grew up in New Hampshire, to John’s present life in Toronto.  The primary theme is faith, and while different religions are discussed and deliberated in a general manner, the emphasis is on the essence of faith embodied by trust and confidence.  Owen Meany’s life has never been easy, yet he never loses his faith.

The story will definitely capture and hold your attention.  There are a few twists and turns in the development of the plot, but it is simple.  It’s a great story, but I didn’t give it five stars as John’s extensive tirades about politics and wars became draining.  I realize they are essential, but I just didn’t want to relive that part of history today.

Leave a comment